April 9th, 2014 ~ Vol. 84 No. 15
Youth hockey celebrated at awards
Crowsnest Pass Herald Front Page
Ezra Black Photo
Most Improved Player Award in Crowsnest Pass Minor Hockey presented by President Lyle Douglas to shared recipients Declan French, left, and Libbey Wilmot, right.
Pass Herald Reporter
It was a celebration of our great game at the Coleman Arena on Friday night as players, parents and staff gathered for the 2013-14 Crowsnest Pass Minor Hockey Awards.
About 150 attended the evening’s festivities, which included the league’s Annual General Meeting, an awards ceremony and a dinner catered by the Bamboo Bistro.
First on the agenda was a bit of business. After weighing total revenues against total expenses, from July of last year to March 31, the league has a surplus of about $33,000. But according to Fundraising Director Kim Lewis, without the revenue raised from their casino fundraiser and the Progressive 50/50 draw, they’d be about 15,000 in the hole and losing money every year.
“Our registration fees are low for a reason because we have great people like you guys that sell our 50-50 tickets,” she says.
One of their biggest expenses is ice rental, which cost the league about $22,000. Referee fees cost about $5,300.
League President Lyle Douglas says the association will be working a on a “Wall of Fame,” concept to display banners and trophies.
“We’ve got all this talent and all these pictures that’s kind of in the back room and we don’t really have a place to display it,” he says.
Douglas says there have been discussions with the municipality and that the ‘Wall’ might be ready in as little as a year.

After some hesitation a few brave individuals stepped into volunteer roles. Karen Whelan is the new Communications Coordinator, Will Mont the new Vice President, Treasurer is Sid Collins and Ice Director is Chad Petrone.

Memorial Awards (Voted on by the Board)
Best Defence – Tavin Evans
CNP’s Most Gentlemanly Player – Colby Snider
Coach of the Year – Chad Anctil
Manager of the Year – Jolie Anctil
President’s Choice Awards (Volunteer of the Year) – Bill Wilmot
Most Dedicated Player (Atoms) – Cole Tkachuk
Most Improved Player (Pee Wee) – Declan French
Most Sportsmanlike Player (Atoms) – Cooper Snider
Most Dedicated Player (Pee Wee) – Sante Canderan
Most Improved Player – Declan French and Libbey Wilmot
Hockey Family of the Year – Chad and Jolie Anctil

Atom Awards
MVP – Chris Collings
Most Improved Player – Cam Hewison
Esso Most Improved Player – Olivia Collings
Esso Most Dedicated Player – Ricky Petrone
Esso Most Sportsmanlike Player – Olivia Collings
Atom Rep line – Nathan Bohmer, Chris Collings, Cole Wemp, Cam Hewison, Walker Jones, JP Mosby

Pee Wee Awards
MVP – Cam Little
Most Sportsmanlike Player – Taite Jessen
Esso Most Sportsmanlike Player – Matt Merritt
Esso Most Improved Player – Foster Fowler
Esso Most Dedicated Player – Jace Lewis and Colby Snider

Other Awards (Voted on by the Board)
CNP’s Goaltender of the Year – Darcy Wemp

Referee Awards (Voted on by the Board)
Junior Referee – Colby Snider
Intermediate Referee – Jarrett Kress
Senior Referee – Marc Sciarra

April 9th ~ Vol. 84 No. 15
All information on this website is Copyright (c) 2014 Pass Herald Ltd. All rights reserved.
12925 20th Ave, Box 960, Blairmore, Alberta, Canada T0K 0E0 | news@passherald.ca | 403.562.2248 | 403.562.8379 (FAX)
Image 01 Image 02 Image 03